Cross Creek Specialty Boarding Schools: Horizon Academy, Red River Academy – Teen Help Programs

Are you considering these teen help programs?  The sales reps have you convinced your teen can be saved by them?  Take 10 minutes and read MY experiences – and even the experiences of over 300 plaintiffs that have a lawsuit pending with them.

Are you confused yet? Looking for teen help and realizing this is a BIG BUSINESS?

So, your teen is driving your crazy.  You are at your wit’s end. You have finally decided you need outside help. You have exhausted all your local resources.  Local therapy doesn’t help, heck, you can’t even get your teen to attend.  Your teen is failing in school, he/she is very smart yet doesn’t want to attend school and believe they know it all.  Many say, “typical teen“, but as a parent, we know it is more than that.

Where did our good kid go?  Good kids making bad choices – and they don’t need to be placed in an environment that will make them worse in my opinion – learn from what happened to me!

As a victim of the WWASPS organization – I am often called or receive many emails about our (my daughter and I) experiences with them.  Obviously not pleasant.  Though I am happy to say the program she was at, Carolina Springs Academy, which attempted to go through a name change to Magnolia Christian Academy (or School) depending on the day you Googled it, is finally closed – it has been rumored some of the staff is now at their affiliate program – Red River Academy.  Maybe some at Cross Cross in Utah – or even Horizon Academy both in Southern Utah and Nevada.

Let me be clear for legal purposes – these are rumors – but if I were placing my child in program, I personally wouldn’t take any chances – and furthermore, Red River Academy and Cross Creek are clearly named in the current lawsuit which is extremely disturbing with allegations of fraud, abuse, neglect and much more – (click here) that is current.

Then we come to Horizon Academy.  Another alleged WWASPS facility.  Why say alleged?  Maybe they will deny they are affiliated – yet look at their staff, again, you will see they were once employed at other WWASPS programs.  Jade Robinson was at the program in Mexico (named in that lawsuit with alleged abuse and neglect) Casa By the Sea, then went on to Bell Academy, which didn’t last long, and I assume is trying to continue at Horizon Academy.

So when the “sales rep” tells you that “Sue Scheff” is a disgruntled parent – I say – YES, I was – you put my daughter in a box for 17 hours, she was mentally and emotionally abused – food and sleep deprived – I was complete defrauded – and she also missed out on 6 months of education.  None of which I had signed up for.  Grant it, this was 10 years ago – a lot has changed – but those original owners haven’t – so in my humble opinion – I wouldn’t trust any of their programs with my pets….. BTW: I am the only parent to have defeated WWASPS in a jury trial.  

Most of the other (many) lawsuits have settled out of court with silence agreements.  I don’t have one, which is why I can still share my story – which is why I get slimed online – which is why their sales reps have all sorts of stories about me – including “the jury made a mistake” – neglecting to tell you I won the appellate court too.  No one condones child abuse – period.

I have been called a crusader (and not in a flattering way) though I take it that way.  I have made it my mission to find the better programs and schools, since I do know what it is like to be at your wit’s end.  I know what parents need help. I am not against residential therapy, which brings us to many  of my stalkers that were formally abused in programs that believe all programs should be closed down.  That is being extreme – they are not a parent trying to save their child’s life and future.

I will share with you that there are more safe and quality programs than there are bad ones – it is just about doing your homework and research.  Today you are more fortunate than I was – you have more access to information and you can learn from my mistakes and  my knowledge.

Please – take another 10 minutes to read my story and see the list of programs that are and were once affiliated with Carolina Springs Academy – and from there, you make your own choices for your child.

I had one parent tell me that almost went to Red River Academy that actually said the sales rep said they could have their teen “extracted” within a few hours?  Extracted?  Really – is your child a tooth?  Please don’t get rushed into a quick decision – this is a major emotional and financial decision.

My organization is Parents’ Universal Resource Experts – and no matter what those “sales reps” or the Internet fiction – I don’t own, operate or manage any schools or programs!  We are about educating parents when they are looking for help for their at risk teen…. Don’t get scammed when you are at your wit’s end.

Oh – and when these “sales reps” send out these defamatory links about me – another FACT they neglect to tell you is I won the landmark case for Internet Defamation that awarded me $11.3M in damages for what was said about me online!  Lies and twisted facts!  Here is my recent appearance on Anderson Cooper.

This is strictly my opinion on my own experiences – you are free to make your choices…

FULL DISCLOSURE:  CROSS CREEK HAS ASKED WORDPRESS TO REMOVE THIS BLOG DUE TO TRADEMARK INFRINGEMENT.  

Dear WordPress,

Please be advised that I am writing on behalf of Cross Creek Programs. It has come to our
attention that you are using the “Cross Creek Programs” mark, specifically found at:
h ttp://suuschcfCad vocate.wordprcss.com/2012/0 l/21/cross-creek-horiy,on-acadctny-rccl-rivcracadcmy-
specialty-boardin^-piot! ranis/’, is an infringement upon our registered US trademark.
77534100. The rights to the “Cross Creek Programs” brand name arc owned by Cross Creek
Programs and this trademark/copyright was registered on August 4, 2008.
The Cross Creek Programs mark is a widely known trademark for Specially Boarding Schools
thai has been used in commerce since June of 1987. My company has spent thousands of dollars
advertising and promoting its brand name. This investment has generated widespread and
substantial goodwill in the public acceptance for this trademark in the United States and
worldwide.
The unauthorized use of the Cross Creek Programs mark infringes on our trademark registration,
constitutes dilution of our registered trademark and is creating commercial confusion. Please
relinquish the lutp://sucschelTiidvocalc.wordpi-c.ss.com/2012/01/21/cross-creck-hori/.oiiacademv-
rcd-river-academv-specialtv-hoardiim-proi^rams/ to myself, the trademark holder.
Also, please be advised that said website is slanderous and according lo the WordPress Terms of
Services to which the blog owner must have accepted, it indicates that
♦ Your WordPrcss.com Account and Site. If you create a blog on the Website, you are
responsible for maintaining the security of your account and blog. and you are fully responsible
for all activities that occur under the account and any other actions taken in connection with the
blog. You must not describe or assign keywords to your blog in a misleading or unlawful
manner, including in a manner intended to trade on the name or reputation of others, and
Automattic may change or remove any description or keyword that it considers inappropriate or
unlawful, or otherwise likely to cause Automattic [SIC]liability. You must immediately notify
Automattie of any unauthorized uses of your blog, your account or any other breaches of
security. Aulomattic[SIC] will not be liable for any acts or omissions by You. including any damages
of any kind incurred as a result of such acts or omissions.
* Responsibility of Contributors. If you operate a blog, comment on a blog. post material to
the Website, post links on the Website, or otherwise make (or allow any third party to make)
material available by means of the Website (any such material. “Content”). You are entirely
responsible for the content of. and any harm resulting from, that Content. That is the ease
regardless of whether the Content in question constitutes text, graphics, an audio Hie. or
computer software. By making Content available, you represent and warrant that:
• the downloading, copying and use of the Content will not infringe the proprietary rights,
including but not limited lo the copyright, patent, trademark or trade secret rights, of any
third party;
This blog does exactly thai [SIC] by making libel claims and producing unsubstantiated claims against
said schools. Defamation of Character will be sought after if said site is not removed or if….[THE REMAINDER OF THE LETTER IS BLURRED, HOWEVER AS SOON AS I RECEIVE IT I WILL POST AND REVIEW THE MERIT.  BUT PARENTS NEED TO THINK AGAIN, WHY ARE THEY TRYING TO SILENCE ME – AGAIN?].

If I do remove this – it will only be due to the fact that I am not playing legal charades with these bullies – that is exactly what they are – IMO – they obviously are looking for ways to get my story and my opinions offline – and now it is through trademark issues – that is fine – but as a parent looking for residential therapy – I hope you don’t fall for this – do your due diligence.  If you want to place with them – do it, but do it because you believe in your gut it is the best for your child and you have done your research, not because you are at your wit’s end and sucked into it.

Leave a Reply

